
First of all, this is a movie starring a wrestler. Nothing against Bautista, he seems like a nice guy, but, to make a movie with him as the lead, and not have action is a crime. Throughout the whole film, Ray (Bautista) acts like a total wimp, he talks a lot, begs, gets his @ss kicked, pushed around, and desperately trying to “clear his name”. Bautista is built like a damn locomotive, he looks like he could eat complete countries for lunch, and it is, frankly, a pain seeing him trying to act, and not able to show off what he really can do action/fighting wise.
Craig Fairbrass and Danny Trejo both have been known as “on-screen tough guys” and they do quite good when given the right material to work with. In here, they are totally wasted, as Trejo has a very limited screentime, and Fairbrass has, a pretty much “empty” role, so to speak.
I do understand that there were budget limits (the film reportedly had a 1,500 000 budget), but come on, throwing in a couple of fights at least (I am not talking about the “PM-Entertainment like car chases and blasts) would have helped this movie a lot.
Since we dont have any of that, what we have is a dragging, boring thriller. There are movies where talking is important, and it’s a special pleasure to watch such film if it has a great actors. In “House of the Rising Sun” we have, what was supposed to be an action movie, but it doesnt have any action at all. If you’re a Bautista fan, go for “Wrong side of Town”, which actually delivers action, and skip this one, you might be dissapointed a lot more than I was.
No comments:
Post a Comment